The Walking Dead: The Road to Woodbury by Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga


Well who doesn’t love a good zombie novel? I’ve been a big fan of the whole series. I’ve read all the graphic novels to date, read the previous full-length novel, and of course am an avid watcher of the TV series. So of course when this book just came out I had to get my hands on it. Fortunately I have a friend more addicted than I am and she preorders all of the graphic novels and regular novels. I get my own little lending library for these for free—which is nice as my public library doesn’t own any 😦

Rating:

Summary: The zombie apocalypse is upon us. This book follows a group of survivors and their ordeals with trying to, well, survive! Lily Caul is the main character of these books, she’s a quiet girl who has issues with crippling fear. The group she’s with finds their way to the little town of Woodbury, GA. The town is run by a charismatic character, Philip Blake, or the “Governor.” The town seems all right on the surface but disturbing incidents soon creep up and the “Governor” is not all he seems to be. 

Review: I’m torn on the book. I really love the Walking Dead. I’ll give the book a 3 our 5 stars because I still like the storyline despite my problems with it. Seeing how I’ve read everything to date in the series I know exactly how the team writes and yet something is off with this one. 

I think this novel felt a bit rushed. Character development was few and far between and some of the characters just felt a little stereotypical. With that said I still liked the book. After reading some other reviews on GoodReads I was surprised to see that most people found this book shocking. I’m slightly confused on what’s so shocking in this novel though. Nothing happened that’s shocking unless the reader is completely unaware of all other installments of the series. What I’m most concerned with are the plot holes, many things were said and left unaddressed, especially near the end of the novel. I don’t want to mention for fear of spoilers. Do we have spoiler/blackout ability in WordPress here? That would be fun 🙂 Anyways, when things don’t make sense I tend to not like the book as well. So I’ll keep the rating at 3. Decent but could be so much better. I want my plot holes addressed… I’ll give them ’til next novel before I trash the writing!

Leave a Reply

