Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls: Book 1) by Maggie Stiefvater


Well following my YA trend recently I decided to check out this well rated series. This was my first audiobook ever! I actually enjoyed it I have to admit. I began listening to this book while undergoing a root canal— it definitely was nice to distract me from the 1.5 hours I was in that chair! Overall I’d say the book was alright. I didn’t love it, but I didn’t dislike it either. I will be reading or listening (whichever copies become available first!) to the next book in the series at the very least.

Rating:

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater, courtesy of Scholastic

Summary: Grace, a 17 year old girl with a neglected home-life, is entranced by the wolves that live in the woods behind her house. The story begins when Grace was attacked by these wolves, but was saved by a yellow-eyed wolf she immediately is taken with. Years go by and this wolf and her remain interested in one another, this is putting it lightly. Little does Grace know, these wolves are actually werewolves. After a series of events Grace and the yellow-eyed wolf, Sam, meet and fall deeply in love. This is the story of their fight to keep their life together as long as possible.

Review: I think my biggest issue with the book is the overuse of purple prose. It was very flowery and a lot of the dialog did not seem fitting for either Grace nor Sam. When I’m reading a book with a lot of dialog or internal narration I want to believe these characters are actually saying/thinking these things, not an outside writer. Other than that I did enjoy the overall story. I admit, I’m a bit of a sap lately. But goodness gracious Sam’s song and bits and pieces of lyrics were horrible. Keep you day job kiddo, you’re no musician haha. Anyways, like I said I did like the book alright. This is a good book for mature teens (as their is quite a bit of sexual tension in the book— but nothing too outright), and fans of this type of fantasy romance genre.

Leave a Reply

