Shadow Bound by Rachel Vincent


I just finished this book yesterday and boy was I hooked after getting into the first few pages. I have to admit, I’m a big Rachel Vincent fan. I’ve been reading her works for a couple of years now. I really like this Unbound series right now, and am ashamed to admit that I just picked this book up a couple days ago. Usually I have her latest book pre-ordered on my Amazon Kindle account and they just magically appear– I love it!

Anyways a few things starting out, I was a bit apprehensive to read this book because I was disappointed to hear Rachel was writing this series from a different perspective with each book. Once I’m reading about characters I’ve grown an attachment too I really didn’t want the next book to drop those in favor of new characters. But I think the novel works this way, it advances the story of this Urban Fantasy, as they call it, world. In general I feel like the idea of humans with special abilities living in the world amongst the normal populace has been a bit overdone. But I like these books— Rachel has a great way of writing that I always seem to connect with no matter what. I also really like these traits that the people can do: Shadow walking/traveling, trackers, binders, etc. It makes for a scary but fascinating world.

I was left on edge most of the novel trying to cheer on one character or another. The book is divided into different perspectives: one chapter will be written from Kori’s the next Ian’s. It made it a bit confusing and disjointed in the very beginning, but about 50 pages or so in I was hooked. There’s definitely a lot of blood shed, but SPOILER ALERT things do work out in the end despite what appears to be some horrible luck on the part of the characters. I can’t wait to see what’s in store next!

Leave a Reply

