Getting Started


Hello to everyone in the SLIS program (be it students or professors). I’m excited to be apart of the program and can’t wait to get underway in my studies. To all students, good luck and can’t wait to get to know you all more.

I’m really looking forward to getting into our field and developing a network with other students/librarians. For as long as we’ve all had Myspace and Facebook now, professional blogging and LinkedIn networks are relatively new to me. Social networking has always just been a friendship and gaming tool for me in the past. So I’m definitely looking forward to moving past that. I started my LinkedIn page not too long ago and it’s pitiful at this point! I’d love to increase/start my networking and my fellow students here is about as good a place to start as I can at this point! My link to my page is http://www.linkedin.com/pub/danielle-wood/2b/758/408

Anyways, as for our field, I definitely feel like a newbie in this sense. I always turned down any work study because I was already working 40hr/week on top of full-time classes. I’m really regretting this decision now though. It would have been wonderful if I could have snagged one of those student jobs at the library. I’m thinking of going back down to my campus and talking with one of the librarians to see if they take any volunteers, or if it’s only student positions. Anyone have any idea about CSU policies on that. Or maybe each campus is different there? I’d be going to Chico. I’m also thinking of putting a volunteer application for our public library as well. I don’t want to go into the public field, but anything to start off would be good. I would like to work in the Academic field. I’m interested in things like archival work, but I intend to have my career more or less in the reference  track. I can’t wait for later in the program when I can apply for LIBR 294, but I don’t plan on doing that until the 2nd year of the program.

Anyone know anything about other internship opportunities other than doing 294? If at all possible I’d like to do multiple internships. It would be great to dabble in a few different fields so you know for sure what you care for, and of course more experience couldn’t hurt!

Well, I suppose that is all I have to say for now. I’d be happy to learn more about anyone too and if any of us are in the same classes I’m always available if anyone wants to chat about anything regarding the class or assignments or whatnot. My e-mail is dwood10@mail.csuchico.edu or drwood728@gmail.com

-Danielle

2 thoughts on “Getting Started

  1. Hi Danielle! I’ll be taking 200 and 201 in fall. I hear your desire to get more internship opportunities, it seems the only way to go. I do see that this class will get us past the social networking as an actual socializing outlet and onto a more networking/career outlet. I hope for the same change!

  2. Danielle: Wonderful to read your post, as we all begin our new learning adventure together. Like you, I am mostly used to using social networking as a friendship tool and not for work-related exchanges. Quite confident that now that I am preparing for a new career — and one I will be much happier with — the transition should be a good one! I think we are all looking for that same change!

Leave a Reply

